Join our email list

Sign up here to be kept updated via email.

  • Pauline Byakika-Kibwika, winner of the HIVRT alumni scholarship to attend the HIV Drug Therapy Congress, Glasgow, 2018.

    HIV Research Trust alumni were asked to complete a survey describing how their HIVRT scholarship had impacted their professional and academic lives allowing Trustees to better understand how it affected patient outcomes in the scholar’s home setting. The Trustees assessed all survey responses and selected Pauline to receive the above award. Her story is summarised below.

    In 2010 Pauline attended a placement at Mahidol University, Thailand to obtain clinical pharmacology analytical skills to assist her in completing her PhD. Pauline’s PhD work contributed to the current knowledge on treatment of malaria in HIV-infected patients who are also receiving antiretroviral treatment. This work has been utilised and referenced by the World Health Organization in the current policy on treatment of malaria in HIV-infected individuals.

    After completion of her PhD, she was promoted to Associate Professor and currently heads the Infectious Diseases Unit at the Department of Medicine of Makerere University College of Health Sciences, Kampala, Uganda where they care for those who are affected with HIV and opportunistic infections - more than 200 HIV-infected inpatients and over 300 outpatients are seen each month.

    Pauline is also the Director of the Research Directorate at Makerere where her responsibilities include reviewing and guiding the research framework at the Department of Medicine and supervising Masters and PhD students’ research projects.
  • Our Trustees
    Professor Sir Ian Weller, Chairman of Trustees

    Professor Ian Weller is an Emeritus Professor of Sexually Transmitted Diseases at University College London.

    read more

    Hannah Bodek

    Hannah Bodek is the Director of Finance at Terrence Higgins Trust, the UK’s leading sexual health charity.

    read more

    Dr Elizabeth A. Bukusi

    Dr Elizabeth A. Bukusi is a Chief Research Officer and the Deputy Director Research and Training at KEMRI.

    read more

    Frances Cowan

    Frances Cowan joined LSTM on August 1st 2016 as Professor of Global Health …

    read more

    Catherine Hankins

    Catherine Hankins is Deputy Director, Science at the Amsterdam Institute for Global Health and Development, Department of Global Health …

    read more

    Eric Sandstrom

    Professor at the Karolinska Institute in Stockholm and a specialist in dermatovenereology.

    read more

    Deenan Pillay

    Deenan Pillay is an academic clinical virologist. After a PhD in metabolic biochemistry, he studied medicine and specialised in virology. Following an NIH Fellowship on HIV drug resistance with Doug Richman (UCSD in 1993) he became Head of the then Public Health Laboratory Service National reference service for antiviral drug resistance, in Birmingham UK, before … Continue reading Deenan Pillay

    read more


    • 11th Jan 2021: Applications Open
    • 7th March 2021: Applications Close
    • April 2021: Scholarships announced



    If you are interested in applying for a scholarship find out more below:



    The scholarships are for health care professionals in early/mid-career who are located in resource-limited settings from low-income and lower-middle-income countries working in the field of HIV infection. Read more to see if you are eligible.